Let It Go

It’s (almost) that time of year again. Spring cleaning. Some of us maintain a clean and clutter free life all year long, while others take a couple of days in the spring to declutter and get rid of the junk in our lives. I am the definition of option B.

My closet. My dear, sweet closet. It’s an absolute wreck and in desperate need of a little TLC.

I opened the scary door and decided to get to it. I started dividing my things into two piles.

“Keep! I love you so much and want to wear you all the time!”

And

“No way. You’re just wasting space.”

Everything was going good until I got to this super cute little denim dress. I really, really love this dress. But it’s about 3 sizes too small.

Torn between what pile it should go in, I decided to make a very basic pro and con list.

Ok so cons:
1. It doesn’t fit me anymore
2. It’s just taking up space in my closet
3. And what if I miss it when it’s gone?

And pros:
1. I loved it when it fit me
2. I cooooouuuuld always make some changes so it will fit again.

One long look at the dress, a deep breath, and “Let it go! Let it go!”

Sorry, had to sing it.

I feel like we all have these little denim dresses in our lives. These relationships that were good for a season, but no longer serve a purpose in our life. They’re just taking up space. We could change who we are and compromise our morals for it to work, but in the end it’s just wrong.

Just like our closets need spring cleaning, our spiritual lives need it too. I know it’s hard when God starts pruning people from your life. People you thought you needed. But I promise He’s doing it for good reason. Allow God to make room for new and better relationships in your life. Relationships that bring out the best in you and make you feel good all the time. If you have to change who you are or what you believe in for a relationship to work then I promise you’re better off without it.

My closet is a little empty right now. But I love everything that’s in there. The people in my life right now are serving a purpose and they make getting up and getting ready everyday just a little bit easier.

“He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful”

Thank you Lord, for pruning the people from my life that serve no purpose and are taking up valuable space. I trust that You will do what’s best for my life and fill it up abundantly. I only want relationships that grow Your Kingdom and glorify You.

I like your style, God. And I want it to be my style, too.

bless and be blessed

Mary Alan

4 thoughts on “Let It Go

  1. Terena says:

    Love, love, love this this message. I’ve endure pruning, and discarded a few”little denim dresses” along the way. At times I felt very lost and lonely, but looking back, I can see Gods hand, Gods wisdom, Gods love in it all. Thankyou for reminding me how God has worked in my life, so I can thank Him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy Richardson says:

    Hi Mary! Love your new post about “clutter”!! It came just at the right time for me! Thanks much! I had been thinking of a “past” friend who I had to let go as she wasn’t living a Godly life and was trying to sweep my life away with her’s. I was more active with her in my life, and now have more time on my hands. But thinking about the more time business, I’d rather have more time with God than without Him! Your post just gave me the kick to keep looking forward and thankful that God is still leading me to the “best” place!!  Hope you are doing well. I am. Love, Nancy

    Like

Leave a comment